

plants and also highlighted the pivotal role of AERB for ensuring reliability in this regard. In a very lucid manner Sh. Bajaj conveyed the gathering about role of computer based systems and computer codes in nuclear power plants. He highlighted the importance of software verification and validation in such critical systems.

Dr. R. Govindarajan, Chairman, Supercomputer Education and Research Centre, IISc, Bengaluru, delivered keynote talk on "Challenges and Opportunities in Heterogeneous Multi-core Architecture". He discussed about latest trends in Processor Architecture, Programming Challenges and other related topics. He highlighted that



Multi-cores and Heterogeneous accelerators present tremendous research opportunities in Architectures, High Performance Computing, Compilers, Programming Languages & Models.

The inaugural function was conducted by Smt. Alpana Rajan, Organizing Secretary, DAE-VIE 2010 and she also proposed the vote of thanks.

Delegates from various units of DAE attended the meet. During the two days meet, invited talks were delivered on varied topics by Sh. A. G. Apte, Head, Computer Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, Sh. K. Bikshapati, General Manager, National Institute of Smart Government, Hyderabad, Dr. S. K. Sinha, Professor, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, Dr.Shubbhama Dey, Indian Institute of Management, Indore and Smt. Gazala Faizal, DGM, BSNL Indore.

Unit Presentations were made by delegates from BARC, IGCAR, NPCIL, VECC and RRCAT deliberating on achievements in last two years and plans for next year. Posters

# NEWS

were presented during poster session by the young developers and researchers from various units of DAE. Special panel discussion on "How to meet challenges in fast changing field of IT" was conducted. Sh. A.G. Apte, Sh. Rajiv Bhargava, Sh. R.S. Mundada, Sh. R. Balasubramaniam and Dr. Anil Rawat expressed their views during panel discussion. Some of the participants also expressed their views.

> Reported by: Dr. Anil Rawat (rawat@rrcat.gov.in)

### N.6: DAE Excellence Awards

The following groups/individuals from RRCAT are among the winners of DAE excellence awards:

#### Group Achievement Awards

- Dr. S.K.Deb, Head, Indus Synchrotron Utilization Division and his 50 team members were awarded group achievement award for the design, development, testing and installation of Front end for Indus-2 Bending Magnet Beamlines.
- Shri Avinash Puntambekar, Head, Cavity Joining and Qualification Lab and his 68 team members were awarded group achievement award for first development of 1.3 GHz Single Cell Superconducting RF Cavities.



• Shri Avinash Puntambekar, Head, Cavity Joining and Qualification Lab and his 54 team members were awarded group achievement award for the development, manufacturing, testing and supply of Superconducting Corrector Magnets.

# NEWS





## Young Scientist Award :

Dr. Chandra Pal Singh, SO/D, Laser Physics Application Division was awarded with Young Scientist Award.

#### Scientific & Technical Excellence Award :





Dr. Arup Banerjee

Dr. M.K. Chattopadhyay

Dr. Arup Banerjee, SO/G, Laser Physics Applications Division and Dr. M.K. Chattopadhyay, SO/E, Materials & Advanced Accelerator Science Division were awarded with Scientific & Technical Excellence Award.

These awards were given by Honorable (then) Minister of State and Minister of State for Science & Technology, Shri Pritviraj Chawhan on 29 October, 2010 on the occasion of BARC's Foundation day.

#### N.7: Award of Excellence to RRCAT Scientist



Sanjeev Kumar Tiwari of Laser Physics Applications Division received the "Award of Excellence" for the best performance in Summer School on Lasers & Laser Applications 2010 (SSOLLA-2010) held at the Advanced Photonics Research Institute (APRI), Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology (GIST), Gwangju, South Korea during

August 02-05, 2010. The school was organized by the Asian Laser Center, APRI which is established to promote cooperation between Asian laser researchers. Professor In Won Lee, Director of APRI presented the award to Sanjiv Kumar Tiwari. The award consists of a citation and a cash prize of \$100.

## N.8: Best Poster Award during Plasma 2010 Symposium

A poster titled "High order harmonic generation in plasma plume of in-situ produced silver nanoparticles", authored by H. Singhal, R. A. Ganeev, P. A. Naik, J. A. Chakera, U. Chakravarty, H. S. Vora, A. K. Srivastava, C. Mukherjee, C. P. Navathe, S. K. Deb, and P. D. Gupta, was judged the best poster in the 25th National symposium on Plasma Science & technology- Plasma 2010, winning a cash prize of Rs. 5000. The symposium was held during at Institute of Advanced Study in Science and Technology (IASST), Guwahati during December 8-11, 2010.

> Reported by: J. A. Chakera (chakera@rrcat.gov.in)

#### N.9: Best Poster Award during NLS-19 Symposium

The following papers were awarded with best poster award during NLS-19 symposium:

- "75W of continuous-wave green beam generation by intracavity frequency doubling of diode side pumped Nd:YAG laser", authored by A. J. Singh, S. K. Sharma, P. K. Mukhopadhyay, and S. M. Oak, Solid State Laser Division.
- "Passivation of GaAs<sub>0.86</sub>P<sub>0.14</sub>/A1<sub>0.6</sub>Ga<sub>0.4</sub>As near Surface quantum well", authored by Suparna Pal<sup>1</sup>, S. D. Singh<sup>1</sup>, S. Porwal<sup>1</sup>, S. W. D'Souza<sup>2</sup>, S. R. Barman<sup>2</sup>, and S. M. Oak<sup>1</sup> belonging to: <sup>1</sup>Semiconductor Laser Section, Solid State Laser Division, RRCAT, Indore, <sup>2</sup>UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore

# N.10: RRCAT family wishes happy and healthy life on superannuation



Shri K.K.Thakkar worked as Health Physicist at RRCAT since year 1995. He joined Theoretical Reactor Physics Section of RED, BARC in year 1972. He was attached to group working for fuel management service for Tarapur reactors. He also worked as health physicist at CIRUS-BARC, Rajasthan Atomic Power Station and Cobalt Facility at Kota. He

was involved in preparation of emergency preparedness plan for RAPS and Heavy Water Project, Kota. Shri Thakkar laid down his office on superannuation on 31.10.2010.