# **EVENTS AND HAPPENINGS**



# N.14: Awards and Honours

## N.14.1: Award of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph. D.) Degree

The Homi Bhabha National Institute (HBNI), a Deemed University has awarded Ph. D. Degree to following employee / students of RRCAT:

1. Dr. Soumvadeep Ghosh was awarded Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Sciences on the dissertation, titled "Theoretical studies on core electron spectroscopy of some novel iron based and chalcogenide materials", which was supervised by Dr. Haranath Ghosh.



2. Dr. Chiranjit Debnath was awarded Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Sciences on the dissertation, titled "Synthesis and characterization of Lithium Niobate nanoparticles and nanocomposites for optical applications", which was supervised by Dr. Sunil Verma.

# N.14.2: ISPA Young Engineer Award 2023

Shri Nitesh Mishra, SO/D, RF Systems Division, Proton Accelerator Group, RRCAT received ISPA Young Engineer Award 2023 sponsored by the Indian Society for Particle Accelerators (ISPA), during Indian Particle Accelerator Conference (INPAC-2023) held at BARC, Mumbai during March 13-16,



2023. This award was conferred on him in recognition of his outstanding contributions in the field of particle accelerators. The award carries a certificate and a cash prize of ₹10000.

#### N.14.3: Best Thesis Award

Dr. Surendra Yadav, SO/G, Accelerator Controls & Beam Diagnostics Division, Electron Accelerator Group, RRCAT received Best Thesis Award sponsored by the Indian Society for Particle Accelerators (ISPA), during Indian Particle Accelerator Conference (INPAC-2023) held at BARC, Mumbai



during March 13-16, 2023. The title of the thesis was "Intelligent approach to study transverse coupled bunch instabilities and their effects on performance of electron synchrotron". The award carries a certificate and a cash prize of ₹10000.

## N.14.4: Best Poster / Paper Awards

1. Four posters of RRCAT received the Best Poster Awards

sponsored by Indian society for Particle Accelerators (ISPA), during Indian Particle Accelerator Conference (INPAC-2023) held at BARC, Mumbai during March 13-16, 2023. The award carries a certificate and a cash prize of ₹3000. The details of the posters are given below:

1.1 Title: Development and preliminary evaluation results of prototype 100 nm spatial resolution digital beam position monitor envisaged for high brilliance synchrotron radiation source

Authors: B. B. Shrivastava, Surendra Yadav, Anil Holikatti, Avanish Ojha, Rahul Jain, L. K. Babbar, Ankita Kumari,



Raja Khan, Abhisek Nayak, Bhavna N. Merh, and T. A. Puntambekar

Shri B. B. Shrivastava, SO/G, Accelerator Controls & Beam Diagnostics Division, Electron Accelerator Group, RRCAT, presented the poster and received the award.

1.2 Title: Cold test and RF tuning of the first section of 3 MeV, 325 MHz RFQ at RRCAT Authors: R. Gaur, N. S. Kulkarni, V. Kumar, G. V. Kane, N. K. Sharma, A. Chaturvedi, V. Prasad, K. A. P. Singh, V. Rajput, D. Baxy, M. Lad and P. Shrivastava



Shri Rahul Gaur, SO/F, Accelerator & Beam Physics Section, Proton Accelerator Group, RRCAT, presented the poster and received the award.

1.3 Title: Design methodology for forming tool of SCRF cavities Authors: Nitin Nigam, S. Mandle, N. K. Sharma, G. V. Kane, Vijendra Prasad, Purushottam Shrivastava



Shri Nitin Nigam, SO/E, Proton Linac Development Division, Proton

Accelerator Group, RRCAT, presented the poster and received the award.

1.4 Title: Design and impedance simulation of RF-shielded bellow and pumping manifold for Indus-1 upgradation Authors: M. K. Singh, P. Pareek, V. S. Bais, B. Sindal, K. V. Kumar, S. N. Singh, D. P. Yadav, P. Shrivastava



Shri Manish Kumar Singh, SO/C, Ultra High Vacuum Technology Section, Proton Accelerator Group, RRCAT, presented the poster and received the award.

